slow loads?

lionheart

Expert Expediter
Hi, i'm new to this, I drive a cargo van, i was wondering when the loads are going to pick up. I've been doing this for three weeks now. The first week was ok I got 945 miles. the second week i got 765 miles and this past week i only got 490 miles. is this normal or will it pick up soon.I had one driver that had done this before with the same company in orientation said the company will build me up gradually, to get my feet wet. Is this true or can i look forward to getting more miles and loads.

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
We cargo van drivers anxiously await the busier period which we are now entering. Hang in there! To which carrier are you leased? Perhaps one or more of your fellow leasees will help get rolling in the right areas for your circumstances.

Terry

lionheart

Expert Expediter
Thank you for your response. I am leased on with panther II,I have a 2005 ford E-250. Home is about 45 min. from charlotte,NC. Every one tells me i'm in a good area but i've been sitting all day. I called disp. and they told me two loads came out of charlotte today.when i went to bed i was first out and today no loads. Dont know what the deal is i havent turned down any loads sense i started and don't want to if I don't have to. If you have any more info i will gladly take it

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
I'm not with PantherII but I cann offer a couple of possible explanations for others getting the two loads from your area.

Might have been a long team load for which you didn't have the time for a break on the load. i.e. a quicker pickup and delivery.

Customer may have required an immediate pick-up and you were not the closest truck to accomodate the customer.