Sage advice requested

VECTOR

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
True newbie here, but have been considering Expediting for a while and reading behind the scenes. I'm a little older than most, but love to drive and about to retire from a very stressful 40 yr career and looking to be in business for myself. However, I also want to determine how much I want to drive/work (would not be my primary income).
It seems to me I would be better off signing on with a 'Bolt-like" company to learn the ropes before venturing out on my own. Is that the best move, or should I just jump in and become an O/O?
Fairly certain I know the answer, but looking for some feedback. Thanks in advance; really like this forum.

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
True newbie here, but have been considering Expediting for a while and reading behind the scenes. I'm a little older than most, but love to drive and about to retire from a very stressful 40 yr career and looking to be in business for myself. However, I also want to determine how much I want to drive/work (would not be my primary income).
It seems to me I would be better off signing on with a 'Bolt-like" company to learn the ropes before venturing out on my own. Is that the best move, or should I just jump in and become an O/O?
Fairly certain I know the answer, but looking for some feedback. Thanks in advance; really like this forum.
Dont sign with a "Bolt-like" company, sign with Bolt.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I think you might be confusing being an O/O with running under your own authority. Very many O/O sign on with Bolt/Fedex/Panther/Landstar/Load-1 etc. etc. etc.. They spend their career as an O/O with those companies. I'm guessing a 40 yr stressful career was something with a lot of continuing education and ongoing learning and training. Succeeding in expediting is no less so. Here's my canned reply to anyone researching expediting that might want to succeed.