?s about Getting back to OTR Trucking after 10 year break

dtfer415

New Recruit
Driver
Hi All, I haven't driven rigs for over 10 year and lining up some work for Sept. Here are some basic questions I have about compensation etc.
  1. A company I'm in contact with is willing to pay me 25% of gross contract and says I'll make $2500+ 1099 if I'm driving the max 70hrs/week and doing 500-600 miles a day. its dry van hauling -no loading -OTR. 2016 Tractor w/ sleeper, micro, fridge. Is that about average compensation?
  2. If I were to do flatbed hauls heading into winter Oct/Nov -could I make more?
  3. There is a lot of demand for drivers so its a bit confusing as to where/who to apply to/accept.
  4. I did most of my commercial hauling in good weather/summer. What challenges do you expect I'll have come Nov/Dec weather. Chains on the passes. I have about 3 yrs driving experience but mostly good conditons. (that said I grew up driving vehicles on snow/sand etc.) thoughts about types of trucking to avoid if I'm wanting to ease into winter. E.g. would flatbed hauling in winter be a lot of work for a rookie flatbedder?
  5. Does anyone know about hauling to/from Alaska -does it pay better. I'd love to learn ice hauling - but is the comp worth the difficult conditions.
  6. Any tips on best truck stops to overnight at -I want to get some excercise each morning -will I be running on crappy remote frontage roads if I want to go for a run on downtime?
  7. Will most rigs have the power supply for me run my laptop with two monitors. I'd like to have my laptop and full 27' monitors with me but will there will be 110A/C outlets in most sleepers.
Thanks for your thoughts,
-Older Greenhorn.

Reactions: Grumpy Grandpa

Grumpy Grandpa

New Recruit
Researching
US Army
Your post asks alot of questions, however, it also leaves unanswered questions.