Runs to Alaska

akguy907

Rookie Expediter
Haven't found too much info on this subject so far but figured it can't hurt to ask on here. I have heard that expedite carriers do run up to Alaska at times and being that I am from there originally that peaked my interest. We have since moved and now reside in the lower 48 but the thought of running up there in the summer sounds like a blast. Has anyone on here made that run and if so how does the pay work out? I would imagine that you would almost have to include d/h pay back to the lower 48 in the run as not much freight goes back down. Any info on this would be great. Thanks.

"If the rule you followed brought you to this, then of what use was the rule?"

billg27

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
As a CV driver I've been offered an Alaska run several times. Each time something prevented me from taking the run. Every time they offered, it was paid DH back to Seattle only. Basically the closest city in the lower 48.

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Haven't found too much info on this subject so far but figured it can't hurt to ask on here. I have heard that expedite carriers do run up to Alaska at times and being that I am from there originally that peaked my interest. We have since moved and now reside in the lower 48 but the thought of running up there in the summer sounds like a blast. Has anyone on here made that run and if so how does the pay work out? I would imagine that you would almost have to include d/h pay back to the lower 48 in the run as not much freight goes back down. Any info on this would be great. Thanks.

We ran one load to Alaska, it was in Nov. It paid VERY good money including all the DH. We had Thanksgiving "Dinner" in a "diner" in the Yukon. We were the only customers in the place. The owner sat and ate with us. We had caribou burgers and fries.