Running Diesel Engine at Idle

omalljd

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
I am new to the expediting business. I have a Ford E-350 Diesel B unit. I have made a bunk area directly behind the seats seperated from the cargo area. I have been told that I can let my diesel engine run as long as I want while I am parked or sleeping in my bunk. My question is will it hurt to run the air or the heat while the engine is running for extended periods of time? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated on this subject. I am not very familiar with diesel engines.

I have been reading the different messages and many of them are very negative. I understand that this industry has its ups and downs. I have 4 quotes that I live by and I thought I would share them.

"In life what sometimes appears to be the end is really a new beginning."

"In times of change, there is no incentive so great, and no medicine so powerful as the hope for a better tomorrow."

"The race goes not always to the swift...but to those who keep on running."

"It's easier to go down the mountain than up, but the view is best from the top."

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
The E-350 van has the International built T444e engine, which is a great little V8 diesel. The only negative effect extended idling can have on a diesel is carbon buildup on the injector ends and in the cumbustion chamber. This really won't be a problem though, as just about all of it gets burned off when the engine gets ran up to speed on the highway again. Change your oil frequently, make sure the coolant level is where it should be and that the engine is running at the right temperature, and change your fuel filter on a regular basis and you will be amazed at how long this nifty little diesel will last you regardless of how much you idle it.

Bluesman

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member