Redundant questions of an expediter

Twiggy

Rookie Expediter
First and foremost I know that these questions have been asked countless times before and may somewhat annoy seasoned expediters. Also, I am looking for actual numbers and not vague " it depends" answers.
I am new to expediting and am supposed to be a team driver for expediter services this coming month. so instead of sounding unprepared at orientation, I'm gonna lay a few questions out on this forum.
First off, being that I have a HAZMAT endorsement, how much more typically can I expect to be offered for the load as opposed to the same distance with a non hazmat load. ( <---- worded strangely but it gets the point across ).
Second, I was told that I will make 800-1600 per week. Since I am in dire straights financially and am here to run balls to the walls if possible, how likely and how much do you think I can make being that I am new to this?
Third, I was told that their loads average out between 1.20 and 1.50 per mile, being that it's a 35/65 contract and team driver, that means I get 17% and then deduct 1/3 because it's 1099. Looking at these numbers it seems 1.20 doesn't cut it to make it if it's not maximum miles. Ex: 2500 per driver is good. Is 1.20 typical or can I expect to get higher averages. How low does it get? At 5000 miles team at below 1.20 I will not make my mortgage and childcare bills alone. Kinda worried.
Fourth, what cities should I absolutely avoid and which ones should I look to aim toward? I live in Atlanta, is atl a good spot itself?
Thank you for any information, sincerely noob

Last edited:

Twiggy

Rookie Expediter
Well those words are exactly my concern. Unfortunately with a solid work history and 10 years implementing my Cdl without incident, I am unable to find work. Job market is really crappy right now am I need an income.