Pets

cj

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Just curious...How many of you travel with your "li'l buddies"? Any problems? How do they "entertain" themselves. Behavior?
I won't go anywhere without my BABY. She's an 18 lb. Cocker. I restrain her in the front seat while at the customer's door. Stop at the rest areas to do her duty and excercise and never been late on time because of it. Occassionally she gets a fast food burger but always has her nutricious kibble and fresh water. She doesn't know she's a dog. T/S are no problems and when needed the A/C and heat are left on for her while I am inside. I always travel with vaccination proof and complete ID (just in case, God forbid, she gets loose). She's not a biter - she's a kisser.
Share your experiences, please.

Randy

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
I'm new to expedite but I ran with my pit bull/chow mongrel. No one bothers the truck. 10-4. : O

G

Which companies (semi or expedited) allow pets? We have a very gentle, very old White German Shepherd.

cj

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
As far as I know the main expediters allow pets. I've seen pets with almost every company at some time or other. Besides WE own the truck what I carry is my business and have never had any corporate question it.
Old dogs need lots of love -- Go for it.

G

PANTHER says no pets, repeat no pets, but I have seen Panther
drivers with them.

G

Went we went full time OTR last winter the one and only thing I thought would make my truck feel more like a home was a dog. My husband finally gave in and XMas, to my surprise we were the proud onwers of a 3mo Min Pin puppy. Her first trip was Jan 2 in the snow, and since she has loved seeing the country as much as we do. We have just started to get familiar with the expediting business, and before we talked to the recruiters about hometime, they had to say yes to our pup. The amazing things people will do for animals huh?

cj

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member