perplexed over team vs. solo

halfwaythere

Seasoned Expediter
If your a female new to this industry...driving alone is creepy
If you don't already have a reliable partner selected...utilizing expedite to shop is creepy.
Men are just as skeptical about teaming up with a new female as a lady would be. Everybody is looking for a guarantee...no drama... b/c as a team both are on the line if one defaults the other suffers. I am even more confused than when I started. I thought all I was going to do is attend the EXPO. The reality for me is to learn to enjoy being by myself and then maybe after I have some experience I can become part of a team out of Alabama. Nobody has it made out there and there are advantages to team and solo really does not interest me. I have two years to sort it out.

Crazynuff

Veteran Expediter
I think many will agree teaming is best for husband and wife teams . Trying to have two individuals with separate households , different families and locations involved in down time , etc . doesn't usually work . From what I hear in all the trucking industry teams are now only getting weekly miles that were considered good miles for a solo a year or two ago .

nightcreacher

Veteran Expediter
if your already working as an expedite,you already know that solos suffer from lack of work,if your thinking of getting in this industry,solos suffer from lack of work.Sorry to repeat myself but it is true.Now if your going or are in a tractor,this statement isnt quite as bad,as some of the companies do other freight besides expedite.
As you may already know,expedite freight delivers non stop,99% of the time,and most of the expedite companies cater to the team trucks.