P0300. Ding dong the witch is dead!!! Maybe?

Murraycroexp

Veteran Expediter
Some of you know that I've been chasing a random misfire (P0300) for several months now. I'm pleased to say I THINK it's been resolved. And in the most obscure place.
Skip to the bottom if you only want the "punch line".
Items checked and/or replaced.
I have a code scanner to help identify pending codes and current codes.

Spark plugs
Plug wires
All four O2 sensors
Took it to shop #1 for them to diagnose. They checked....
Fuel pressure
Fuel flow
Vacuum quality & quantity
Coils for quality of fire
Moved even side coils to odd side to see if coils were issue. Were not.
"Relearned" crank sensor
Checked entire system for vacuum leaks under all RPMs.
Then they ended up saying "Maybe weak valve springs".
Shop #2
Checked all the same items above and only found worst misfire count on Cyl #6.
Replace #6 plug and result was the same. P0300.
Swapped MAF sensor to "test" with no change. Then swapped it back.
Gave it back to me so they could "do more research".
Never hear back from them.
I took it to Smedley's Chevrolet and walked the service writer through everything that's been checked and done.
"I see it periodically. The valve train is just worn out."
I could actually see this being the case as it had, at the time, 403K miles on it.
I ordered valve springs, as a last result, from gmpartsnow.com and replaced them on the 4,6 & 8 cylinders since those were easily accessible by the spring compressor I had.
No change. P0300.
Still had a "random misfire" at 69-75 MPH.

Through ALL of this time I had been reading various blogs about other Chevy owners and their P0300 woes.
I was NOT alone.
But until Wednesday almost everything that I had read had already been checked or replaced on mine.