Owning a sprinter van- being a owner operator

Chmiel08

Active Expediter
I'm in the army and i'll be getting out in less than 2 months. I'll be going back home to el paso, tx. I graduated from national tractor trailer school december 5th. I currently have a commercial drivers license class a with air brakes.

I'm looking into buying a sprinter van instead of driving tractor trailers. Can someone please help and tell me what else i must have or do besides buy a van. I know i need the obvious-vehicle insurance and my own health insurance. Do i need dot numbers or something? What's involved for me to learn the business? I would love to drive a sprinter van and deliver expredited freight. With no experience I definetly am not ready to be an owner operator. If I lease on with a company with my van do I still get benefits? How does that work? Am I responsible for my own health insurance etc..??? Please help!!! Thanks. Marcin

Last edited:

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
Might be moving a little too fast with limited knowledge. I would spend some time here in the forums and do a little research so you really understand what you are jumping in to.
Also, may want to consider driving for someone for a short period to test the waters PRIOR to making a expensive vehicle purchase.
BTW, welcome to EO and thanks for serving.

Rocketman

Veteran Expediter
First off, as Dave said, thanks for your service!

Now for the rest. You say you definitely are not ready to be an owner operator. Based on your first post, I would agree. You need to do a lot more research. Here is why. You also said that you were looking to by a van. Well, the second you sign the note..or the check...whichever the case may be, your an owner operator. You own it and you'll be operating it. So, that's our first clue that you need to do some research.