Okay, so i wanna be a driver!

homebound64

Seasoned Expediter
I wanna be a driver, team with future husband, so I am studying this CDL book, okay, easy enough. I will take the driving test, okay, gotta get the pre-trip down, hardest I hear, but my question is: which owner/operator expediting companies can I drive for (no exp) + future husband (2-3 yrs class A experience) ??? He has experience, I have none, will Panther hire us as a team with me having no experience? If not, can anyone tell me which companies are GOOD and pay good and get good mileage? I am serious with driving! Studying as we speak! Thanks to all who reply! Girl in Greenback, TN gettin ready to burn the pavement up! Watch out, here I come! LOL

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
None of the CARRIERS are going to hire you....the Carriers don't have trucks to hire drivers...they contract to people that have trucks that put drivers in those trucks...

Look here in the classified ads for Owners looking for team drivers, call carriers and ask them what owners they have that are looking for teams....

greg334

Veteran Expediter
I will say it again, become flexible in this driving career because it is the only way to survive.

IF your future husband has 2/3 yrs of class A driving, get a class A license.

14Wheeler

Seasoned Expediter
I wanna be a driver, team . He has experience, I have none, will Panther hire us as a team with me having no experience? LOL

Since you're already working on the written and have a Mate who'll coach you thru the states driving test, i'd think you're
off to great start. You'll find its not the carrier that'll stop you from driving certain class's of vehicle, but their insurance company.
In order to even think about driving class A vehicles, you're gonna need year(s) of experience. Most folks get those year(s) driving for one of the X- large haulers that have schools,trainer ride along programs. Your Mate will better explain that part to ya better than anyone else.