ok iam a rookie

cajunbuckeye

Seasoned Expediter
being a want a be , sprinter or 6 wheeler, i have spent the last 28 months as a short haul , otr for a major company of big trucks, 53' i have decided to become an expeditor ?

i have a few questions if anyone can answer 1 how many miles can you get on a sprinter before a major over haul is to be done?

and is there money to be made having your own truck and attorhority , seeking answers good n bad

cajunbuckeye

Seasoned Expediter
OK Where do I start

i have been driving big trucks for the past 28 months 53' conv / day cabs. there are to many super trucker's for me on the road i spent $8,000 financed my class A. and now want to change iam looking to become an O/O. where can i find out the in and outs of what you proffesional lil truck drivers do, with all respect!!

iam 52 yrs ole and aint getting any younger, should i just stay running short haul making 52,000 a yr or go for broke ?

i average $175.00 to $300.00 a day running parshibles out of delware ohio. and be unhappy, thankyou for your time

Cajun Buck:confused:eye

dhalltoyo

Veteran Expediter
I read another post you had made and it indicated that you made $52,000 driving a day cab tractor.

It would be almost mathmatically impossible to clear that much in a Sprinter. Most drivers pay the truck 60% and themselves only 40%. If you could average 100,000 paid miles per year (I don't see that happening in the current market) and you could average a $1.00 per mile, expect about $40,000 per year in a perfect world.

I can't imagine anyone taking a $12,000 per year cut in pay. Moreover, I would imagine that you have some health care and/or retirement benefits at your place of employment.

Seems like an awful lot to give up. You may want to wait and see if available freight offers increase over the next few months.