Cargo Van NPR vs. Freightliner for OTR in NORCAL

2fast2curious

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
Hello everyone . Im new to EO and im looking for advice or insight. So please don't hesitate to put in your comments. I am in the middle of financing a 2013 NPR (diesel) from Penske. I have a USDOT# and need a vehicle so i can apply for my MC. Im only a signature away from financing it, but I was a bit reluctant learning that the NPR is 4 cylinder. I wasn't sure if the Isuzu motor was up to the task for what I was gonna use the truck for. My main purpose for the truck is to do local driving in the bay area and up and down California on LTL loads and contract work. What ever Company or broker I can find to put loads on my truck. So I decided to read some internet blogs and post of what people where using for long hauls and such. Mostly mixed reviews but a lot where advising against the NPR because they were built in mind for local city driving. So this had me thinking. Infact it got me thinking alot because some of the reviews even said that Isuzu has poor engine builds too underpowered. Im about to finance a 16ft truck but now im thinking about a 20+ footer under CDL. On top of that dilemma a few have mentioned that diesel is not always the way to go because of maintanance cost and operation. So now it's a debate for me because I have been a believer of Diesel trucks as I use to own a a Dodge 2500 cummins 4x4 truck. It's obvious I am new to this but a former refinery worker I am trying my hand in Owner/Operator world of small freight/expedit. I have so many questions . Here are my vehicle options

2013 Isuzu NPR 16ft 134k miles (Penske)
2007 GMC 7500 Duramax/Allison 156k miles (Budget)
2012 Freightliner M2 Cummins/Allison 266k miles (Penske)
200+ (any dry boxtruck you advice here)

The most I am concerned about is mileage. Should I be with Diesel trucks like the cummins coming in @ 266k miles? Is duramax reliable? I know their consumer trucks are but what about commercial?