Nitrogen

FREE TO FAIL

Seasoned Expediter
well bit the bullet and put nitrogen in my 2002 volvo twin screw cost $ 100.00 for 10 tires done at belle tire on dix rd. in Detroit. took about an hour and 1/2.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Do a search on nitrogen and you'll find threads discussing the several reasons for it. They have a location about 1 mile from where I'm waiting on a job. In the morning I'm calling to see if they do it at that location and if so I'm going tomorrow and have mine done.

Leo Bricker, 73's K5LDB, OOIDA Life Member 677319
Owner, Panther trucks 5508, 5509, 5641
Highway Watch Participant, Truckerbuddy
EO Forum Moderator
----------
Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.

Packmule

Expert Expediter
I have been running nitrogen in my tires on the Packvan for about 4 months now and the differences I have noticed is the tire pressure always stays the same regardless of climate. The ride also seems to be a little softer. Tire wear...still too early to tell.
Only problem I have encountered is not being able to always find a facility that has nitrogen when it is time to rotate my tires due to running different pressures in front and rear (80/55), nitrogen always has to be added at every rotation.

So far I have not been charged anything additional for the nitrogen. Big difference in 4 van tires and 6-10 big truck tires though.

Danny

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
I bought 4 new nitrogen filled Michelins yeaterday at Costco. I take advantage of the lifetime rotate/balance every 10,000 miles or so when I'm idle near a Costco location.

For your comparison, I spent a total of $756 for 4, LT245/75R16E, M/S

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter