danvictoria

New Recruit
Driver
Anyone here ever hear of empire national inc? I'm thinking of starting up with them. My recruiter told me if I go over the road I can expect to average 2500mi week at approximately average of .87/mile. Is this realistic nowadays or no? I'm looking to buy a ford transit 150 which is ok for to drive for them mainly the cargo space. I'm very new to this and looking for any and all advice. Thank you

Treadmill

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Anyone here ever hear of empire national inc? I'm thinking of starting up with them. My recruiter told me if I go over the road I can expect to average 2500mi week at approximately average of .87/mile. Is this realistic nowadays or no? I'm looking to buy a ford transit 150 which is ok for to drive for them mainly the cargo space. I'm very new to this and looking for any and all advice. Thank you
I would not go with the 150 ford transit. In my opinion, long and tall along with at least a 350 frame works best. For one it can haul tall freight with a 3 skid capacity and a weight capacity of 3000 lbs. which most carriers would like to have. Now the rate of .87/mi may be realistic for one or two carriers but most are in the .70/mi or less range. Hope this helps.

Reactions: Mr. Loyalty.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Don't do anything. You are nowhere near ready. You don't just buy a van and become a plumber or electrician or carpenter. You don't just buy a van and become an expediter. First, you want a minimum of a 3/4 ton van, NEVER a half ton van. A one ton van is better still but NO LESS than a 3/4 ton. If you buy the 150 it will be beaten to death before you know what happened.