Newbie with a question reguarding pay

alexmj616

Rookie Expediter
Driver
Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am a brand new driver with an iffy driving record. I found a very small expediting company in Michigan(10 sprinters, 2 straight trucks) that is willing to give me a try.
They are offering 28 cents per mile, with them covering all expenses related to the van(maintenance, fuel(fuel card issued) etc.)
My question is, is this a reasonable amount of pay per mile for someone starting out with zero experience? Or are they trying to get cheap labor out of me? If so, what is a reasonable amount of pay per mile for someone like me?
Thanks for your time and responses.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
The common split is 60/40 with the 60 side paying fuel. Since you pay no fuel etc. that makes you the 40 side. That means they are basing pay on 70cpm as 40% of 70c is 28c. It's on the low end but it gets you in the door and builds experience you can eventually use to get a better situation.

Reactions: Worn Out Manager

xmudman

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
It's not awful, but it's not plum either. See if they'll do .30 (doesn't hurt to ask); if not, give it a whirl at .28 to see if you can make it. Say goodbye to steak and hello to peanut butter and ramen noodles.

Good luck

Reactions: Worn Out Manager

jcochristoph

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
US Army
Often someone learning a new language has a harder time typing, or writing out what they are thinking/trying to translate in their mind, than speaking it. English is one of the most difficult languages to learn. I believe that he was trying to say if the o.p could find better, good, but most are like that (paywise).

Sent from my SM-N920V using EO Forums mobile app

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter