Newbie saying hello and have a few questions about straight truck jobs etc

JonH

Rookie Expediter
Hello everyone, my name is Jon I'm from the east coast, I'm a newbie, not working yet but I have a 24ft 2008 Hino 268A box truck with a tuck away lift gate. I've been getting much needed advice on the industry as a whole for the past year and some months from friends and others in this industry and I'm extremely grateful for it.

But I've hit a bit of a wall. I'm currently trying to negotiate with businesses somewhat locally but most reside some 50 plus miles away. I know I cant include that in my bid I just have to eat that money/gas unless its further away. But with that aside, how would I price customers? Gas based or other?

And if its gas based, how do I include all of my other expenses? I know for most of you guys its easy but for some of us newbies its a challenge.

Thank you all for any advice or help you can extend towards me in advance, I can use any that you have.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Do you have authority ? Insurance ? Ifta ?
Why not lease to a carrier as you learn the business ?

Welcome to the forum. Good Luck.

Daffyduck528

Expert Expediter
Gas money? You have a straight truck with a gasser? Or you just call it gas money? And everything zorry asked is important.

JonH

Rookie Expediter
Do you have authority ? Insurance ? Ifta ?
Why not lease to a carrier as you learn the business ?

Welcome to the forum. Good Luck.

Yes zorry, I have my DOT/MC/INTERSTATE, no CDL and yes I have insurance. When you say lease on to a company what does that mean? An whats IFTA?

JonH

Rookie Expediter
Yes Daffy I have a straight box truck 2008 Hino 268A. No I was just mentioning gas money and having to incorporate that into my sales bid on jobs. Im still trying to learn the business side. I used to be in construction and did estimates on jobs, I need a break down of it all. Any websites or anything I can check out that could help me out?

zorry

Veteran Expediter