Newbie: Lurked for 6 months but have ???'s

Timmer

Active Expediter
Howdy everyone! I've been driving a desk for the last 20 years and am totally burned out on it. I am in the process of selling off some assets then I want to purchase a commercial vehicle and hit the road.

I have a class A CDL that I have never used professionally and my wife has a commercial DL and she wants to drive too so I'm thinking Sprinter? But the sleeping arrangement's seem to be the biggest challenge.

I see guys post really cool ideas regarding a home made sleeper in cube/unicells but my understanding is that a vehicle with a gvwr of 10,001 and up has to have a DOT approved sleeper. Most of the cubes seem to run 12,000 gvwr and up... any thoughts on that?

Also any input regarding a newbie entry level vehicle/job would be appreciated.

Also, I don't see much concern regarding a 3/4 ton sprinter vs. a full ton. Size seems to matter most ;) but payload capacity is not a problem???

BobWolf

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hi and welcome.

If your lookinginto a sprinter I would recomend a 1 ton Cargovan or Cubie. Chevy, Ford, Mopar all the same. Sprinters are made by Mercedes and you will know that as soon as you need parts or service. For the most part Gasoline engines are best for vans. Cheaper to maintain and easier to service and get parts. Get one with an 8 cylinder GM 350, Ford 351, Mopar 318 or 360. Im old school so you will need to find the liter displacement.
You dont need a big block.
Cube vans a 12 foot or 16 foot you can convert into a nice sleeper and have plenty of cargo room.
Just remember, to keep at least 8 or 9 feet for freight. Most 12 foot cubies without any mods can payload 4,000 lbs so after you build a sleeper you should have no problem. Just watch the axle weights so you dont run over.

Feel free to shoot me a Private message if you have any questions.
Bob Wolf

wvcourier

Expert Expediter