New DOT Rule - No Texting

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
I guess they'll take your phone and check messages?
and compare them to your log book....
I can see the delete being used a lot now...

greg334

Veteran Expediter
You know that's really great.

The DoT has been on the forefront in providing a small amount of research funds to Ford and GM to develop in vehicle systems for the past few years. They seem to think that this is safer for drivers because of "the amount of information that now get" to make driving decisions.

But driving one of the new Ford products with the new Sync system, I can't see that being anywhere near the truth. I want to know why are they providing funds for this crap while at the same time trying to limit distractions within the vehicle?

I am a good driver and trying to deal with the nav system that was out my line of sight and trying to read the buttons on the display was hazardist to say the least. I had to trun it off and focus on driving. I can imagine some idiot who is a bad driver rearending someone because they were trying to figure out what station they are on.

Where these are useful is in europe, they don't have the problems that we do with dumb drivers.

What should we outlaw next?

Nav systems?
Video systems?
Kids in the vehicle? This is the biggest distraction of all.

buddy

Seasoned Expediter
It is my belief that if any individual that is driving any vehicle that is performing a task that is distracting to job/safety at hand, then someone needs to step in and take action. In this case its the Feds. So be it!!

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
The only way that the Feds can do this legally would be under the Interstate Commerce Act. Otherwise, it is a State matter. The Feds are in too many things that are reserved for the States. Just wait, it will get worse. This is only the beginning.

greg334

Veteran Expediter