Need advice on getting started

hdman1973

Seasoned Expediter
Hey everyone,

I have been a class b driver for 4 years now. I am in the process of preparing a rental property for sale. I own it free and clear so the 150k or so that i will make from it will be all mine. I looked into getting a tractor trailer, but i really dont know them and would have to get a class a and pay high insurance (if i could find any)
So now i'm thinking that expiditwed would be better for me. I would have enough to buy a brand new truck and still have 50-70k leftover. I would have to maybe start solo until my wife gets her b and comes along with me a a team ( from what i gather teams get alot more work) My questions to you are as follows:

1) i have been arrested twice in my life. I had a misdemeanor in 1993 and a misdemeanor in 2000. Will this hurt my chances of being picked up?

2)Can I be pre-qualified to run for someone? I don't want to buy a 90,000 dollar truck to find out noone will hire me.

3) what is the most in demand size and gvw of truck to buy?

4) i have heard that sometimes you have long waits for another load? Is this so?

5) how much deadheading comes with the buisness?

Any help or advice you exp. drivers can give me is appreciated

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Given your history I would definitely find the company I'd drive for and get prequalified. You will have waits between most jobs and some of them can be long (as in a day or maybe two). My deadhead runs 17%. I'd do my calculations based on 22-25% and if the numbers are good then they'll be better when you run smart and keep d/h at or below 20%.

Give some thought to driving for an owner for a few months to learn the nuances of expediting. If it's not for you then you can give notice and walk away without owning expensive equipment you've lost 20-25% on.