Cargo Van Lost route...need advice on van

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Ready to replace my 2003 Dodge Ram Van 3500 :) I've been spoiled paying 0.94 cents a gallon for CNG, but without going thru Buffalo every day I'm not saving anything at prices between 1.50 and 3.20 for natural gas.

Carrier has no year rules on vans so I've been picking up CNG vans with less than 80,000 miles for under $2000 and do ALL my own mechanical work.

Not interested in anything new...I was about to pull the trigger on a T1N Sprinter (just over 100000 miles, clean but they're asking $15000) I remember all to well paying over 100 dollars for 500 miles in my diesel E350 and OPEC just announced they will cut production.

Anyone with a bubble van (gas) or CW cutaway could you please post your actual MPG? I'm planning on converting to propane since I run a lot of Canadian miles...i'll keep the CNG tanks in case gas goes back to 4 dollar range but with dual fuel I can just use gasoline in states.

I typically drive 60-70 mph max and carry low weights but carrier needs at least 10 ft box an over 48" opening for freight.

I need to know real world highway MPG for expediters who drive for MPG not the stuff I find on the internet...

Thanks, and please post anything including why I am crazy to go with the van that gets 12 MPG in town over a Sprinter (propane here is around $1 a gallon so 12 MPG roughly same cost as 24 MPG diesel)

Reactions: neilblack

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Ok no responses, so while searching I found the "sprinter wannabe" thread with some good info...I'm the type to fix stuff at the side of the road rather than wait for a tow or mechanic to have time for me, so "sprinter wannabe" is what I'll be.

What I need to know: Ford or Chevy bubble van, and Aerocell CW, or even Cargomaxx:

MPG while deadheading empty (60 mph range)

I average 15 now and can make it work, thanks to any SRW box truck drivers that could reply...

brokcanadian