Big Truck Just curious...HOW do you make money in a straight truc

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
As a cargo van driver, I was always curious...how do you guys make money? I heard when diesel was up it cost 80 cents a mile just for fuel, and the per mile rate isnt that much more than vans...

HOS limits your range, repairs and tows cost a fortune, not to mention insurance...cost of vehicle...my brain just shuts down when I try to figure it out...

TDave

Expert Expediter
Currently my fuel cost is like 20 cents a mile. A couple of years ago when diesel was double my fuel cost was in the high 30 cents. If your a team HOS doesn't/shouldn't come into play.

ttruck

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
As a cargo van driver, I was always curious...how do you guys make money? I heard when diesel was up it cost 80 cents a mile just for fuel, and the per mile rate isnt that much more than vans...

HOS limits your range, repairs and tows cost a fortune, not to mention insurance...cost of vehicle...my brain just shuts down when I try to figure it out...
all depends on short or long miles rates vary if I stay in state {fl.}I average 3.00 to 4.00 bucks a mile.

Reactions: neilblack and TDave

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hovering around 1.20 canadian for vans if I'm lucky, at 4 US per mile maybe OVM could sponsor a fellow Canadian after I buy a straight truck ;)

tknight

Veteran Expediter
Really land star is paying 3-4 per mile I find that even harder to fathom you need to prove that to me! For what kind of truck?

beachbum

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Really land star is paying 3-4 per mile I find that even harder to fathom you need to prove that to me! For what kind of truck?

No Landstar pay a percent. My last 3 loads were 1.4 Dallas to Newark NJ dropped down to DC (no Pay) 1.58 DC to Aspen, Co