Cargo Van Is there no future here?

Robert A Rutherford

New Recruit
Researching
Hey everyone, total newbie to expediting, but not to trucking life. The wife can no longer drive CDL vehicles so we thought of looking into expedite vans, but from the post I've gone through guess that's not an option? Be fair and tell me the truth(at least as you see it)

Jim Tropf II

Active Expediter
Carrier Management
It's not for everybody, that is for sure. It all depends on what your personal needs are.

Last edited:
Reactions: Lawrence

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
If you have no debt it can be done. As cheap a vehicle a you're comfortable with, try to find out company that won't force you to buy after its 5 years old; I'm surviving by taking local courier type work as well; I don't wait around after a drop, but deadhead to the next available run/good freight area...older vehicle means I've dropped the collision meaning I save over 50% where I live...no takeout food...your own maintenance & parts store commercial discount, fixing your own vehicle pays better per hour than expediting...unlimited ways to save money, but keep in mind very few companies are taking on vans and it's pretty tight with a co driver in a loaded van

Reactions: Jim Tropf II

NorthernBill

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Wouldn't say it's not a option. Teams are a advantage for longer loads. Comfort is a bit of a problem.

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hey everyone, total newbie to expediting, but not to trucking life. The wife can no longer drive CDL vehicles so we thought of looking into expedite vans, but from the post I've gone through guess that's not an option? Be fair and tell me the truth(at least as you see it)