Generators Inverter or generator

wings

Rookie Expediter
Hello. I am new to the business. Been in for 2 months and loving it. Have a ram pro master (sprinter style van). I wanted to add a 2nd battery and an inverter. Went to a truck store and the guy recommended getting a Yamaha generator instead. About the size of a small cooler and then you don't have to mess with the wiring in the truck. It sounds like a good way to go but I worry about theft. Has anyone gone the route of a small generator and if so have you had any theft issues? Obviously I would chain it to the truck. Thanks for the feedback.

westmicher

Veteran Expediter
If you are going to run an air conditioner, the answer is to have both. The generator to run the air conditioner and the battery / inverter to run everything else.

wings

Rookie Expediter
I'm going to try and go without an a/c unit and just use fans. That may change down the road. Thanks for the tip

guido4475

Not a Member
If you are going to run an air conditioner, the answer is to have both. The generator to run the air conditioner and the battery / inverter to run everything else.

Why not just get a generator big enough to run what you need it to run?

The problem with having a battery bank is that, eventually you still have to run the van to charge them back up, so really, where is the advantage? Weight? A Honda EU3000 generator is like 160#....An Oddysey battery is like 80#, just for one. Why put extra wear and tear on the van's engine, and all of it's components by having a set of batteries? With a generator, you are waiting for a load powering all of you're creature comforts from a generator, completely separate from a van's engine.

asjssl

Veteran Expediter
Fleet Owner