how to become an independant expediter

steeler fan

Expert Expediter
I work as an owner operator with one of the large expedite companies.I drive a 04 sprinter.I was wondering how to go at it without them.Like how much insurance I would have to carry.Does anyone have advice on where to find the info on how to start?

b4342

Expert Expediter
S/F stick with your company. I have my own auth/ins and 4,000 dollars of debt. 2,000 for liabilaty a year 1,000 cargo a year , 1,000 for set up auth,signs,etc. I search for loads all the time, spending all my dwell time looking. A nice way to pass the time but always fruitless.
the key word is EXPEDITE. IN the general freight world what we can haul 3500,8.6 is a joke, average load for us 1200 miles at 300 dollars
NO THANKS I hoped to use my auth and work for my company at the same time just to keep me moving. so far my company is doing all the moving.
S/F my advice dont bother with your own auth/ins. make it simple just put another van on with your fleet. good luck

dorin14

Expert Expediter
i suppose u access loadboards like DAT or getloaded.com;can i find loads for straight tr.on these loadboards?
I got my DOT # and i am just about to send downpayment for insurance,before i can start on my own;i have 10 y exp.in stepdeck,flatbed,oversize,HM.So eventually i can give me a trk.trail.
and make money on those loadboards til i get my own customers and broker auth.(if straight truck ain,t gona be busy enough)
Any senior :) advice on this ,welcome.

Drive safe.

b4342

Expert Expediter
dorin14 there is a lot of freight for straight trucks on getloaded.com,
however the most in demand truck out ther is the flatbed

dorin14

Expert Expediter