How Old To Old

Expeditious Expediter

New Recruit
Researching
Hi all,

I had an interview recently with an expediting company about becoming an O/O. They had said that if a vehicle was more than a few years old that it would be hard to find loads. I'm looking to buy a used vehicle, either straight truck or van, not sure which yet as I've been hearing that vans are getting competitive and is a hard market to break into due to large number of drivers in the field.

Ultimately, because I'm completely new to the industry I'd like to keep my start up expenses low and the vehicle is the largest initial expense. So how old a vehicle can I buy and still hope to reliably find work? I have the means to set aside a fair amount to cover an early unexpected repair if I get unlucky.

Also I'm Canadian if that affects things.

Thanks,
Xx

alexmj616

Rookie Expediter
Driver
I would say no older than a 2012..but that's just my opinion...you have to think, the older you buy the less time you'll be able to drive it before a company says it's too old for them. Try to find a used van but still new..like a 2016 with only a couple thousand miles on it.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Don't buy anything. Go to work for a fleet owner and learn the business. Save every penny possible. If, after a year or so, you have learned enough and want to continue pursuing this career then buy a vehicle. This career is FAR more involved and complicated than buying a vehicle and making a fortune.

Read back 3 to 5 years worth in the General, Newbies and Recruiters sections of this forum. Every single title in each one. If it sounds remotely educational read the entire thread and learn all you can from it. If you do, when you've finished that, you'll be up to about the apprentice plumber/carpenter/bookkeeper/whatever level. Then drive for a year or two for a fleet owner. That will bring you up to the journeyman level. Then you'll be ready to buy a truck and probably move up to the master level.