How much money can a driver make working for a fle

volhost

Seasoned Expediter
Hi, I'm a company driver for an OTR company (TractorTrailer)now. I was thinking about switching to a straight truck in Expedite. I stay out 4-5 weeks now. I looking to go teaming in straight truck to learn the business. and would like to know if I could make around $50,000. a year or is that to much if I don't own the truck?

Thanks for you input.

tec1959

Expert Expediter
RE: How much money can a driver make working for a

Volhost welcome to EO,I have to say that If you run hard you can $50,000 a year but thats before expenses...When I was with Fedex on a "DR" unit I avg $45,000 to $60,000 a year before expenses...Good Luck...

BigBusBob

Veteran Expediter
Driver

Truckin' is Truckin'.... the longer you stay out... AND the harder you run, the more money you'll end up making. However, expediting is slightly different in some area's. Some would say if you have a team, and a lift gate and reefer unit and all kinds of other bells and whistles you MIGHT make that 50K after expenses... IF you run hard and stay out AND have a kind (ha ha) dispatch system.

You will hear of rare cases where the solo guy/gal does ok for themselves without all those fancy bells and whistles.

I believe the trick to our transportation industry as a whole is just like the trick to any industry... You have to set yourself apart from the regular. The regular in expediting being the what seems like a million other two axle "regular" dry box straight trucks out there... how you do that is up to you and your will to succeed.

Expediting is about performing excellent service in excellant time.
It's not like regular trucking. Not at all.

TeamCaffee

Administrator
Staff member
Owner/Operator

Hey BBB good post and good to hear from you! Missed you at the truck show.

flatbedin

Seasoned Expediter

The only reason one would not be able to net that income is from "self-inflicted" limitations...

nightcreacher