how many miles in a day?

steppenwolf

New Recruit
Researching
I have experience driving a box truck but I am new to the expedite industry. I recently applied to an expedite position in Louisville where the routes are round trip and all miles paid using company vehicles. I had to be willing to be on call which was fine with me but I was told that it was forced dispatch and sometimes I would be required to drive over 20 hours straight thru. Is that normal in this business? That sounded ridiculous especially considering that being on call I might be up for several hours before I even started the trip. After thinking it over I replied I was only comfortable going around 700 miles in a day. A 700-mile radius from Louisville covers the Great Lakes to the Gulf Coast and D.C. to Wichita, Kansas. He said it would be virtually impossible for a driver to be limited to 700 miles in a day. I would appreciate some feedback from the more experienced drivers on here.

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
It's possible you misunderstood what he said. The Hours if Service laws prohibit this kind of driving as a solo. As a team perhaps, but not solo.

tknight

Veteran Expediter
Average 50 mph with traffic and stops waiting time and mandatory 30 break .... Legally your lucky to do 550 a day if you were doing 20 hr drives I don't want to be anywhere on the same road as you !!! Your really breaking the hos laws and if your boss was demanding that I think it's time for a. New boss.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
...it was forced dispatch and sometimes I would be required to drive over 20 hours straight thru. Is that normal in this business?