How many hours and how much money can I make driving cargo van, expediting, regionally?

Sandin Hudson

New Recruit
Driver
I'm new to this and start next week, I'd be driving cargo van, regionally. The van owner would pay for maintenance and insurance. He said everything made would be split 50-50. How many hours would I be looking at driving and potential to make how much money driving those? I'd still like to be home every night.

crich

Expert Expediter
Fleet Manager
US Navy
You will be lucky to work 2 days a week if you deadhead home every night

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
He must be doing some sort of short range deliveries probably less than 300 miles. Is there a company name?

crich

Expert Expediter
Fleet Manager
US Navy
5 to 600 miles or dollars?
A 50 50 split and you pay for fuel?
So you get a 300 mile run pay for 600 miles worth of fuel and work 14 hour days
A 300 mile run for try hours pays what?
50% deadhead is not very profitable.I would question make any real money being home every night

Sandin Hudson

New Recruit
Driver
5 to 600 miles or dollars?
A 50 50 split and you pay for fuel?
So you get a 300 mile run pay for 600 miles worth of fuel and work 14 hour days
A 300 mile run for try hours pays what?
50% deadhead is not very profitable.I would question make any real money being home every night
$500-$600 a week.
These are all of which I do not have the answer for, the reason I am here asking.

crich

Expert Expediter
Fleet Manager
US Navy
Are you expected to pay for 100% of fuel?
If so is he getting 50% of fuel surcharge?
I do not know what try hours pays for cargo vans but with all the vans out there I wouldn't expect it to be much. I get that drivers are attracted to no log books and no scales but is there really enough money to drive a van and split the money?

crich

Expert Expediter
Fleet Manager
US Navy
The recruiter stated all of his drivers are long time employees and he is a very easy guy to work with.