How is your business set-up? LLC? Inc.? DBA?

Lawrence

Founder
Staff member
How is your trucking business set up? LLC? Inc.? DBA?

Why?

(I'd like to post these responses in our magazine too).

ChanceMaster

Expert Expediter
I am a contractor for FXCC. I drive for a one truck owner. I am set up as a corporation (inc.) I use a payroll service to take my taxes out of my gross every week. All of my payroll is accomplished by smartphone/email . I could do it cheaper, but the payroll service makes sure I do it every week, I avoid procrastination that way.

Sent from my PC36100 using EO Forums

BigCat

Expert Expediter
I am a contractor for FXCC. I drive for a one truck owner. I am set up as a corporation (inc.) I use a payroll service to take my taxes out of my gross every week. All of my payroll is accomplished by smartphone/email . I could do it cheaper, but the payroll service makes sure I do it every week, I avoid procrastination that way.

Sent from my PC36100 using EO Forums

Hmmm I am gonna have to look in to something like this. What on average is it costing?

Dynamite 1

Staff member
Fleet Owner
S Corporations, for the tax advantage. Also like the way a corp. Puts a definite line between business and personal. Corporations pay all parties involved. Take care of the taxes and everything is nice and neet.

moose

Veteran Expediter
Just as a side note (very sided) for all of you that used to have another DOT number set up "for taxes only" purposes,
while still showing the carrier DOT# on the side of the truck as the one responsible for safety,
the FMCSA got away with that stupid idea, and you are no longer require to have one.

Fkatz

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Ragman, How do you get away as a Non-profit, watch out they are going to audit approx 1 million non profits this year