how can i get my B cdl without going to a trucking

wano

Seasoned Expediter
i want to drive a straight truck and maybe in the future get my wife to drive with me as a team.i have driven a international 4900 firetruck when i was a firefighter.i can get my permit but i cant get a truck to practice in and to take the road test,i need any info on how to get my B cdl without going to a school.thanks.wayne in london,ky

riverrat2000

Seasoned Expediter
RE: how can i get my B cdl without going to a truc

if you just need it for the test try truckmasters truck driver training I remember a friend that needed his cdls after getting out of the military and they basically rented him a truck, it worked out real nice as they were the ones that also gave him the test

JoeMP2

Seasoned Expediter

Here in Kentucky there is a roundabout way of getting a class "B" CDL w/o paying a truckdriving school. nearly all the local boards of education seek applicants to train for driving school buses. They will train for free, and those who complete the training get a class "B" CDL. OF course you are expected to drive a bus for them and you should for a period of time. After driving for the BOE, perhaps you would go to straight truck driving. It's a circuitous route, but it is free training.

Reactions: 96to22

panthercub

Seasoned Expediter

If you know someone who has a CDL A or B you can rent a truck on test day. Your friend will have to drive you to the test site obviously, and the rental would have to be in his name. That is how I took my test. I had plenty of experience already in a <26,000 st truck, so we just did some pratice skills stuff the morning of the test. Rental cost me 200 bucks (glad I passed the first time!)

Daniel
Panther 12055

ExpeditersWife

Seasoned Expediter

My husband is currently studying for his class B's too..he currently has his class C's and did drive a straight truck for over a year...