Hotshot work

truckerjohn

Seasoned Expediter
I was offered a position today driving a guys truck "F350 or F450" doing hotshot work. 500 miles and back mostly. he pays 20% of gross and he said I would be home some nights and home on the weekends. I was wondering if this is a fair wage and what is the norm? He seems very nice and seems like a pro. He offered me hotel and offered to buy my dinners. Is this a good deal? or shoudl I ask for a little more % on the loads? Thanks I am new to this type of work. Have a nice week y'all

Tempest

Seasoned Expediter
Exactly how much is 20%? $500 a week? $1000, $1500? This would be my first question. 90% of $100 dollars is a big percentage but not a big check.

Crazynuff

Veteran Expediter
Much more info is needed here . Is it true hoshot (time sensitive ) or just a dually with a gooseneck . True hotshot rates are over $2 a mile . On the 500 miles out and back do you get paid for the "and back" or is it unpaid deadhead ? The one red flag to me is using Fords . Very few hotshotters use Fords due to poor reliability . I know one logistics company that really got things stirred up of forums about a year ago when he posted an announcement he would no longer contract O/O's with Ford 6.0 or 6.4 power due to past problems .
Another question is will you be an employee or independent contractor ? This job sounds like you should be classified as an employee if you have regular assigned loads .

truckerjohn

Seasoned Expediter
Yes its a ford witha goosneck. and yes I will be an employee. He will pay for my dinner and hotel. when he gets backloads I will get 20% of that too. I'm thinking about asking him if I provide my own meals maybe he can up it to 25%. what do you guys think?

Crazynuff

Veteran Expediter