hazmat question

spiderwebbj

Expert Expediter
I was wondering if i need a cdl-c with hazmat for a cargo van? I was wondering because i was told that it is illegal to transport hazmat in a van or anything where the cargo and passenger compartments are connected? If it is illegal why does most companys require cdl-c with hazmat and not just a chouffers licence?

Wild Bill

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
I am not an expert of this. Far from it. But I think you do need one for a cargo van. The only hazmat I don't think you can carry is cargo that would effect your breathing.

I might be wrong about this (and usually am..lol :+ )

spiderwebbj

Expert Expediter
thanks for the answer even if your not sure. I've been calling companys for info and most wouldn't even talk to me without a cdl but the few that did i got 2 differant answers and so i'm all confused. If any other newbies wanna talk to a company for info the nicest one i talked to was bonnie at Try Hours, she was very helpful.

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Let me see if this clarifies anything. Most companies, but not all, want you to have the ability to haul reportable quantities of hazmat as freight, and that cannot be done without a CDL (A, B or C) with a hazmat endorcement. Hazmat can, however, be moved in any vehicle if it is less than the book listed RQ (reportable quantity) for the substance in question. Examples of this can be small amounts of dry ice (carbon dioxide), personal cigarette lighters (butane), a breathing oxygen cylinder or a propane torch cylinder, etc.
The company I run with, C&M, does not run hazmat, and I don't miss it after FedEx. Those loads always gave me DOT nerve jitters.
-Weave-

dog

Expert Expediter