Hangin' out the side of the van, sweatin'....

johankey

New Recruit
Driver
So I just started driving a Ford Transit T250 for an owner and through a 3rd-party carrier. I'm totally new to this. I've been out on the road for 10 days so far. I should get my first settlement in 5 more days. The first week was OK. I had 1563 loaded miles, and that was despite sitting in one place for 72 hours with no load available. This was last weekend. Now I'm in my second weekend and it's the same thing all over again.

My question is:

Should I expect to sit in one place every weekend? If so, then how is this worthwhile? At this point, I just walk around Walmart 3 times a day or go to McDonald's and buy a fountain drink and sit for as long as I can.

I was laid off from my last job after being there 3-1/2 years. I have another job lined up (if I take it), but it doesn't start until October. I am basically homeless and figured that this would be a decent gig to at least get me through the Summer. My reasoning was that, by not having to pay rent or utilities, I could live frugally, sleep in the van, and save up enough money to go home in October and have a fresh start. Now I'm not so sure.

RoadTime

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Yup, pretty much a day in the life of expediting.

You should be able to save up (some) cash till October.
I would be taking that job, but by then, I'm sure you will not need much convincing ;)

johankey

New Recruit
Driver
Yup, pretty much a day in the life of expediting.

You should be able to save up (some) cash till October.
I would be taking that job, but by then, I'm sure you will not need much convincing ;)