Fed up & disgusted!

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
MY APU went dead, AGAIN! This time they say cracked head or head gasket. That is bad enough. What is worse is NO ONE CALLS ME BACK! No idea what cost for repair is. NO idea what the cost of replacing an engine would be. I called another place about a NEW or used one. Never returned my call.

I bet they then complain that business is bad. :mad:

Rollinout2

Seasoned Expediter
Fleet Owner
I have a rigmaster, and had 2 shops claim the same 2 things. I waited and had my shop of choice to look at it.........bam ! external electric fan. If there's no oil in your coolant or coolant in your oil, its not the worst case you are looking at. PM me if it's a rigmaster and i'll give the info on the shop right down the street from Chicago/ O'Hare Int'l Airport.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
Some of us in the bigger vehicles need to watch what the "van" guys are doing. An APU is way to much money for the benefit of not idling, I would dump the APU and mount a generator in it's place. I am looking into buying a new one then cutting the tank in half and reweld it to be about twice the size. I will keep a gas can on board to make fill ups easy, much cheaper for the same result.

Sent from my ADR6400L using EO Forums

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Yeah, us van guys aren't as stupid as we look and we are a frugal bunch.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
LOS can't whip over to the gas pumps like a vanner.
He doesn't want to slosh thru the slush at 3am to fill the thing up.
He probably has more energy demand than the average van.
There's a safety issue of the empty gas can and handling of gas in general.
The auto-start features would most likely be lost.
If he wants to go primitive he can hang a hammock off the liftgate.

usafk9

Veteran Expediter
Joe