Extremely Agressive Defensive Driving

AMonger

Veteran Expediter
There is a time to say, "It takes all kinds," and a time to to say, "We don't need any of this." This is the latter. This guy lives in PA, so you might be sharing the road with him. (All signs of near-illiteracy are in the originals.)

I invented (well probably reinvented) my own driving style. I practice EAD Driving. Extremely Aggressive Defensive Driving. saved my butt far more than once. I am an extremely aggressive driver are
RETAINING my safety zones buffers and "outs" I try to always have 2 outs. if an our is removed I aggressively take action to re-acquire that out or another out.

Well here is an example.

Coming home from work on the expressway (had to pass through philly don't remember why) anyway I see a car taking the onramp ahead of me. after a second I really this could be an intercept. I check my left lane. car overtaking me on the left also a potential intercept. this means when I GET to that on ramp there is a high degree of probability that my "go right" out will be removed by the car taking the on ramp and at the same time my "go left" out will be taken by the car overtaking me on the left.

At this point I need to either change lanes to interrupt one of them (not needed and adds risk) Accelerate to "beat" one of both of them to the interception point (3cyl 1.0 geo metro NOT likely and a waste of fuel and either of them could also elect to accelerate and now I have less time to react. Decelerate and let them beat me to the interception point and retain both outs and a third (deeper deceleration)

I elect the third option and hit the brakes pretty hard (around 3-5 seconds to interception) Brother goes what the hell you slowing down for. I am about to explain why when the car on the onramp SWERVES hard into my lane of travel.