down sizing again

tom tinker

Expert Expediter
Chrysler down sizing, GM and Ford have down sized. Does this bring in people that got a chunk of money, buy a truck and think their going to run around the country delivery freight and having fun? Mien while cutting the throats of those that do this for living. By maybe taking loads for less then profitable rate. Just wondering!!!!! Hurrier you go the be hinder you get! Tom Tinker

gavinsdad

Seasoned Expediter
I got downsized out by a Tier 1 automotive supplier and got into a D-Unit. I am an owner operator. This does not mean that I got into this for the fun of it. I spent 6 years as a truck driver before I got into the auto industry, and going back into trucking was not really a matter of choice rather than a matter of necessity to keep my family fed and the bills paid. Why do so many people have something against former autoworkers getting into expediting? We are just trying to make a living same as the veterans of this industry.

Jayman

Expert Expediter
>Why do so many people have something against former autoworkers getting into expediting? We are just trying to make a living same as the veterans of this industry.>

Fear is the answer that first comes to mind. Even though I havent broken into the biz yet...I can understand the feelings of those who have done this for a while and wonder what their long term outlook is. There is also the "Mexican driver/company" issue running now as well. Everybody here just wants to feel good about what they are doing and hope they can afford to keep on going.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver