Does Any Owner Of Cargo Vans/Cube Vans Pay For Fuel & Tolls For Driver ?

bluefish55

Active Expediter
I understand as a expedited driver-sub-contractor that as a driver I am in business too. But being unemployed, starting out I can not pay for fuel and tolls, go get a expensive smart phone on a 2 year contract or get a prepay smart phone, go get workers comp. and have a credit card to drive a cube van for an owner and no FSC. Does any owner pay for fuel and tolls and pays the driver a milage rate for loaded miles instead of the 60/40 split ?

ntimevan

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
From reading posts on here for a couple YEARS before going out as owner -OP, You might find an owner that would pay for fuel and tolls BUT my guess is you'll get 35 % of the load pay and that makes for a tight BUDGET for the first months.

greg334

Veteran Expediter
Sorry about the harshness, I'm not trying to bash you and understand where you are coming from. BUT someone has to start speaking about the realities of this business because I see it may be getting to the point that people are running out of unemployment and taken advantage of by idiot owners who just will use them.

I understand as a expedited driver-sub-contractor that as a driver I am in business too.

That's true.

But being unemployed, starting out I can not pay for fuel and tolls,

Being unemployed is one thing but trying to make money at this means you have to have money.

go get a expensive smart phone on a 2 year contract or get a prepay smart phone,

Smart Phone is not a requirement for this work, so ditch that idea and get something basic.

go get workers comp.

This is something that the owner should help you out with.

and have a credit card to drive a cube van for an owner and no FSC.

I don't understand - no FSC?

Does any owner pay for fuel and tolls and pays the driver a milage rate for loaded miles instead of the 60/40 split ?