Cycle mode on temp assure loads

ChanceMaster

Expert Expediter
Last night I put our refer on cycle mode enroute on a load. I have never done this before, but was bored/curious and remembered the clink canned message about running on continuous for pharmaceuticals. Our load is not pharmaceutical. An hour after switching to cycle mode, I get a c link message asking me to switch back to continuous mode, and that FYI, All Temp control loads are to be run on continuous cycle.

Any truth to this ? First hand knowledge ?

Sent from my PC36100 using EO Forums

zorry

Veteran Expediter
I believe this is the new policy. Not a popular policy: uses more fuel , more wear on reefer= more costs.

iceroadtrucker

Veteran Expediter
Driver
THe Truth of the matter is all reefer loads are to be on continuous cycle. BTW Zorry Its more wear and tear for a unite to turn on then off then back on. Then just to run on Continuous. The only thing that is is using more is a fuel. When you put the unite on Cycle mode the unite shuts off at the temp then when the sensor detects its close to being out of range the unite turns on and runs hard till it hits temp then shuts back off. Notably remember this when you do that the return probe is what saying temp in the box is going out of range. what it doesnt show is the actual box temp which most likely will be out of range. Food for thought. Less wear and tear and save your Qual leave the TCU on continuous cycle.
On another note keep that reefer tank full weather in the winter or summer. When its gets down to just below 3/4 or just above half fill the tank. Argue you all you want but if for some reason the Fuel Pickup tube is short when you fill the unite while its running if its about empty or at 1/4 the silly thing can get airbound which means the unite dies and then you got to manualy prime the silly thing.

Attachments

• 576620_439142322782595_100000604946092_1541418_1696929886_n.jpg