Cube Van MPG

Mrnewbie

Active Expediter
Hi everybody I am new to the expediting world and just had a few questions for those of you who have been around longer. I own a 2007 GMc cube van 10k gvw(formerly penske) It gets 12 miles per gallon on the highway currently. Here are my questions first of all I am looking to do a gear swap from 4:10 to 3:55 or 3:73 would this be a good idea? Secondly I am looking into the gearvendors od unit that says it increases fuel economy by 22 to 28 percent, but its 3000 dollars upfront, do you think it will ever pay for itself fully? Lastly about those wind deflectors and air tabss do they work as well as they claim? The wind deflector claims 1 to 1.5 mpg increase and airtabs claim 4% which equalls about .5 mpg All told with these improvements and changes( using the companies math of course) I can get this van up to about 16.5 mpg does this seem possible to you guys. Thanks for any answers you can provide me

scottm4211

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hi. The wind deflector will give you about 1 mpg. Well worth it. No clue on the other ideas.

Mrnewbie

Active Expediter
Also can anyone give me any suggestions for a cube van wind deflector all I can find are full size truck ones or ones made for a pickup hauling an rv, do you think that type would work?

Jefferson3000

Expert Expediter
The are a number of Air Tab enthusiasts on this site who will vouch for its benefits. An air deflector/shark/air scoop on the roof of the cab will certainly cut down on drag. I've even seen some small ones for the front hood.

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hi everybody I am new to the expediting world and just had a few questions for those of you who have been around longer.

Is the cube van in question a single rear wheel or dual rear wheel set-up? Don't you love a person that answers a question with a question? Ooh, that was two questions!