Concerned I’m being massively screwed over

Afriendlynoob

New Recruit
Driver
My boss accidentally sent me a carrier load tender sheet instead of a BOL like he meant to and I ended up seeing a number that made me very worried. He owns the cargo van pays for maintenance and fuel. I’ve been getting paid $.38 cpm and I drive everywhere and am always on time. How badly am I getting screwed over? I’ve been doing this for a few months but still consider myself a noob. If I am getting screwed over, any advice on how to confront him about it?

Reactions: redskunk

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
If you agreed to 38 cents a mile, and that's what he's paying you, then you're not getting screwed. Between 28 and 32 cents a mile is not that unusual for a big truck driver, like somebody driving a tractor for Werner, so 38 cents for a van isn't bad.

If the amount that went to the truck, after the carrier's 30-40 percent cut, was a dollar a mile, and you got 38 cents of it, that's in the 60/40 split range, if you were getting paid a percentage instead of a flat rate

Reactions: Afriendlynoob

Afriendlynoob

New Recruit
Driver
.38 cents in 2018. What the what?
What do you mean by this? Like that’s bad for 2018?
If you agreed to 38 cents a mile, and that's what he's paying you, then you're not getting screwed. Between 28 and 32 cents a mile is not that unusual for a big truck driver, like somebody driving a tractor for Werner, so 38 cents for a van isn't bad.

If the amount that went to the yruck, after the carrier's 30-40 percent cut, was a dollar a mile, and you got 38 cents of it, that's in the 60/40 split range, if you were getting paid a percentage instead of a flat rate
Ok that makes sense. I didn’t think about the broker taking 30-40% but I didn’t see anything about a percentage on the sheet.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
I agree with Turtle, but I think there are better opportunities out there....