Chevy Express E Track installation question

Steve1

New Recruit
Fleet Owner
Hello!

I am new to this and I need an advice from experienced people here.

I am going to haul some pallets in GM Express 3500 and want to install E track to the floor. My worry is that floor is thin and in case of hard braking\accident the pallets can rip off the etrack. Is there any way to make it more secure? May be add another sheet of metal from underneath?

Any help really appreciated!

Ideally should look similar to this floor. But how secure it will be and how to reinforce is the concern for me.
IMG_5212-Large.jpg

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I can't tell you about hardening the floor but for the e-track I'll suggest you add 3 rows. Take your 48" plywood and cut so you have two 12" width and one 24" width. Put the 24" width down the very center of the floor and then a row of e-track on either side and then the 12" widths to finish the floor. You'll have to trim a bit around the wheelwells. That will let you secure more things, some that would be too narrow to secure with the e-track only on the far sides of the plywood. I usually strapped everything in an X pattern across the freight.

I also had a couple of beam sockets. I'd put them in where I wanted the freight to stop and put a block of 2x12 cut to fit so the skid/freight was blocked from moving forward. That was the e-track slot immediately next to the skid. Then my strap went in the next slot so it also pulled the 2x12 firmly against the freight. Extended Wood Beam Socket : E Track Straps : Lodi Metals, Inc