Carriers choice

Ecotech2006

Seasoned Expediter
I just got a disturbing call that wrecked my whole outlook of getting into expediting, I was told by Landstar " they can not qualify me at this time" what is up with them? I have a class A cdl w/hazmat no violations, no criminal record ever, I have about 3 years experience driving T/T and straight trucks. I wasted all that time getting my DOT phy. renewed and spent all the time filling out the application.... What do they do? Can I expect the same answer everywhere else?:-(

JohnMueller

Staff member
Motor Carrier Executive
Safety & Compliance
Carrier Management
EcoTech2006;

Surely there must be some reason that you were denied a position with Landstar at this time.

It could be one of many reasons, some of which may have nothing to do with your background or work history, such as positions being filled. Did they mention keeping you on a list for when positions become available? I've hired drivers in the past that have honestly informed me that they are on a list for Landstar, and if a position comes available there, that they would be leaving our company. Landstar is a good company.

Thanks,
HotFr8Recruiter

Ecotech2006

Seasoned Expediter
well I have a position with a truck owner, he is in the process of getting the truck signed on. Could it be because of the owner not qualifing? Looks like now he is goingto sign the truck up with Express 1 and go with me, he doesn't have enough experience as a driver to be a truck owner, which makes no sense. He won't be driving it, I will, he just owns it.

Jayman

Expert Expediter
I have had one of their recruiters tell me there are exceptions to their experience requirements. Just have to get approval.

Ecotech2006

Seasoned Expediter