Can't get a medical card

xmudman

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
For five years I have dreaded posting this, but I must know: Will any carrier accept me without a medical card? Here are the details:

Right eye 20/80 at best correction. Turned down for LASIK twice because the doctors did not see how my eyesight could be improved. Left eye corrects to 20/20. This is what stops me from getting a medical card.

Tried in spring 2010 to get the waiver from the FMCSA. Turned down because, ready for it? I HAVEN'T ALREADY BEEN DRIVING CMV'S :confused: !!

Before trying for the waiver, I had to wait three years for my record to clear up, after a bad patch in early 2007 of 2 wrecks & 3 tickets. I am accident- and violation-FREE since 2/24/07. Also I can P clean because I haven't smoked weed since the Carter Administration :D

I worked as a courier for six long years, in Manhattan. This past February, I gave that up due to a hip injury, which has since healed. Released to full duty by orthopedic surgeon. I still do work for the courier company, on occasion, but I do NOT want to go back to NYC on a regular basis! To do so would be a little, tiny bit like returning to an abusive marriage. I hate the place, and it has nothing to do with the traffic, believe it or not.

I know that I am restricted to C/V's & Sprinters; no problem by me.

For years, I have wanted to be an expediter, but the need for a steady income kept me chained to the courier job. Even now, I know I am at least 6 months from being able to expedite because I need to rebuild my cash after being out hurt.

So I must ask, do I have a chance? I know a lot of companies won't have me, especially the majors (the Fed, Panther, etc), but how about some of the smaller carriers? I know it isn't an insurance thing, 'cause I've been with Progressive for years. I did just get my own authority, but that's a subject for another post.