Canada Canadian newb

Teager

Rookie Expediter
Good Day,

I'm a newb that has applied to Thompson in Ontario. I've spent the last 10 years in the military and am now being medically released. I have tried to read as much as possible about being a Sprinter o/o. I've also read through some of the newbie threads here.

If there are any tips or advice anyone can give me that would be great. I find it tough finding information on the Canadian experience of an o/o. I know what you can make can vary but does anyway know what can be somewhat expected on average with Thompson either monthly or weekly?

I am also on the hunt for a Sprinter. If anyone wants to give there opinion on must have equipment please feel free.

Thanks,

Teager

DST001

Expert Expediter
Hello Teager I would advise you to stay away from the sprinters they cost a crap ton of money when they break and if you break down in the middle of BFI it will cost you a pretty penny to get it towed to the nearest sprinter dealer.I know this from experience I had a sprinter your regular backyard mechanic will not even touch them you might try looking for a Dodge Protester it's the same thing as a sprinter length and height wise and a lot cheaper on maintenance I hope this helps DST001

Teager

Rookie Expediter
Thanks DST001. Did you mean the Dodge Promaster? I am open to any van I've also looked at the Ford Transit but don't know much about them yet since there brand new.

DST001

Expert Expediter
Yes the Dodge Promaster and Ford Transit or even look at a Gm Chevy single rear wheel cutaway 12 footer that's what I have cheap to repair and parts are available hope this helps

westmicher

Veteran Expediter
Yes the Dodge Promaster and Ford Transit or even look at a Gm Chevy single rear wheel cutaway 12 footer that's what I have cheap to repair and parts are available hope this helps
It's actually a RAM Promaster... RAM is Chrysler's commercial division.

awdsubaru

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator
Teager...