C unit drivers please help

bluemillion

Seasoned Expediter
I am a B unit driver new to FECC. After about 4 months of driving I am seriously considering moving up to a C unit. So I call my recruiter and he tells me that he needs to check my stats to see if I can qualify for an upgrade. Everything checks out after 3 days and he tells me I am approved for upgrade. He gives me a list of dealers for straight trucks that he works with and gives me his blessing. But now I'm afraid to take the plunge. I have seen less than steller financial compensation in my B unit and a quality straight truck will run me between 50 and 100k. Further I would be a single driver no team. I have heard a few horror stories about solo C unit drivers not being able to get the same number of loads as teams thus making it difficult to make their truck payments. Can anyone tell me if it would be a good decision to upgrade because if I cannot get the load opportunities to support the financial responsibilities of the truck, it will surely force me into bankruptcy and thus end my career. My recruiter advised me that a straight truck brings in an average of 75k per year however he told me that my B unit would bring in an average of 50K and I now know that this just isn't true.

Doggie Daddy

Veteran Expediter
Why would you want to limit your load opportunities by driving a C unit? If you upgraded to a D unit you would get load opportunities ranging from D loads all the way down to A loads.

We have even gotten E loads that have been split into 2 D loads.Also the truck market is saturated with quality used D units (not so many, if any C's) and there are lots of good deals out there.

Check out the free classifieds here on EO and you will find several great trucks in the lower level of your 50k to 100k range.

Last edited:

ATeam

Retired Expediter