Big Thanks to EO Community

maxxedoutvan

Active Expediter
Hello to all , My name is Joe, I am a 61 years old, heavy equip/truck mechanic, forcefully retired by John Deere after many years of faithfull service ,due to hearing loss, But Thanks to JD my hearing has been restored thru bi aural choclear implants. I have been reading the forum since Christmas , It is very encouraging, and informative. I am contemplating a major career change into this community, and i am attending the EOU,seminar this comming Feb22nd, in Knoxville. What if any documents should i bring? liscence, physical, tax returns, etc..
I am currently studying for my CDL and have taken a DOT physical . I think I have met the minimum DOT standard of hearing . But I have a major hurdle and it is the phone conversation. So I have one, of many questions that I have not found in the archives : are all major carriers dispatchers instructions via phone??? do any of them use texting /email?? would they accomodate a my disability?. I plan to follow your advise regarding my equipment, a used cargo maxx, ultra maxx, or high cube van. etracks and straps. to get started. thanks again for all those of you that participate in this forum. its priceless to a newcomer. Joe

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
Some carriers do have minimal phone contact and use the Qual Com to dispatch loads..yea you can get a quick phone call to see if a load is accept it or not..but there are carriers that don't even do that..they just send the load info over the QC and you decide if you are going to take it or not..turn it down and you will get a call, but accept it and you are all set...

Forget your tax returns, you are an independent contractor to the carrier, they don't care if you have or will make money or not, thats on you...

Smart move to avoid a regular CV....It sounds like you are approuching this from the right angle..Make you you seekout Nick and Jenny in Knoxville, they have forgotten more info then most of us ever knew....