Better paying loads

TeamTuzo

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
I am new to expediting. I am currently working with four dispatchers. They will call me for a load 500 loaded miles 120 empty miles and want me to do it for $450... WTF.
They the dispatchers act like they are ashamed or embarrassed to ask for more money. And when I counter for $500.00 I don't get the load.
I don't understand. Can someone please shed some light on this.

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I am new to expediting. I am currently working with four dispatchers. They will call me for a load 500 loaded miles 120 empty miles and want me to do it for $450... WTF.
They the dispatchers act like they are ashamed or embarrassed to ask for more money. And when I counter for $500.00 I don't get the load.
Part of the problem is, you have too many dispatchers.
If two of them are bidding on the same load, they are going to drive down the rates in an effort to get the load.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Are you driving a van? When I retired many carriers were paying 77cpm loaded for vans and maybe 25cpm deadhead after 50 miles. 500 loaded at 77cpm is $385 and 70dh at 25cpm (rounded) is $20 so that would be a $405 run with a lot of carriers. I don't know what current rates are but probably similar as they rarely change.

Reactions: dji123kid

T270_Dreamin

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Is it possible in today's market to get .90 to $1 a mile on a extended Transit or Sprinter? 2015+ yr model? I'm assuming a % carrier would be the way to go.

Mr. Loyalty.

Rookie Expediter
Owner/Operator
Let me guess...lol..you are leased to 4 carriers at once driving some sort of van or cube, right??

dji123kid

New Recruit
Researching