Best company to sign on with

Zfox141

Rookie Expediter
Hello I am new to the expedited world as a fleet owner. I am in the process of purchasing a sprinter van, just waiting on some funds to free up. What company in your opinion is the best to sign on with? My boss for my 9-5 Jon has a 08 sprinter signed on with Panther and is having good luck with them. I welcome all feedback.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
Let's see: a new to expediting fleet owner waiting for funds to buy a Sprinter - what could go wrong?
Sorrry, Zfox, you don't even know what you don't know yet - beginning with the meaning of 'fleet owner'. Unless that Sprinter you're waiting to buy has some company: one van does not a fleet make. I'd advise you to save the funds while you do some research [about carriers, fleet owners, owner/operators, contracts, percentage vs flat rate, etc] so you will have some idea of which carrier you would have the best chance of making money with and for.
It's not a nice reply, but it's not a nice business, and you need to know what you're doing, because it's YOUR business that fails if you don't.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
If you've done any research, those who would know best, present $printer owners, say it is NOT an entry level vehicle.
Welcome to EO. You will get some brutally honest answers.

Zfox141

Rookie Expediter
Thanks guys... I know its a tough biz. This will be my 3rd year in it. Currently I work for an agency that represents Roadrunner and Globaltranz so I understand the brokerage side. I have experience dispatching for a Jax based trucking company and also Spectrum Logistics where I matched up backhauls for seastar containers. It's definitely a brutal business.

I am waiting until I have a plan in place before making the purchase. No need to have a van sitting if it's not making money.

Zfox141

Rookie Expediter