Avoiding toll roads

Kennyday

New Recruit
Researching
Does anyone avoid toll roads on purpose without issue? I'm just starting out and was looking into ways of saving money on the roads.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Most of the time the toll roads really are shorter and faster. That's why they were built. So, when time is tight, I'll do the tolls.

Depending on time, of course, and where I'm going, I'll often take US 20 between Toledo and Cleveland instead of the Turnpike. US 20 west of Toledo not as often, but every now and then.

Unless I know it's backed up, I'll usually take the Dan Ryan through downtown Chicago instead of the toll roads. On the other hand, that $5 for the Skyway Bridge in Chicago is worth it at twice the price. :D

One that I almost refuse to do is the toll bridge on I-65 across the Ohio River at Louisville. I'll get off and take that 2nd St bridge nearly every time. It's 2 blocks and about 3 minutes out of the way. $5 for a Sprinter to cross that bridge? Puhleeze. And my carrier pays for tolls. I don't care, five bucks for that is ridiculous.

I usually avoid the tolls in Texas. Most of the time I don't see any benefit in taking the toll roads. During rush hour it's probably worth it.

Tobster317

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
I do go around the I-65 toll into and out of Louisville if it’s not during rush hour.
I do take 20 but only half way out of Cleveland heading West.
Chicago just pay them unless it’s the wee hours on the morning, that place is always a mess.

Reactions: Turtle

Solar

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
Does anyone avoid toll roads on purpose without issue? I'm just starting out and was looking into ways of saving money on the roads.

My 2 cents.
I use google maps, which gives me the option to avoid tolls or not. It will even say “avoid tolls” in a bar above the route given in the directions layout.